No Longer a Londoner


It should be saying 'Sold', our new house.

It should be saying ‘Sold’, our new house.

Yet again, it has been ages since I have done a post.  I would like to think, that I do have some sort of reasonable excuse. We have moved house. (That would be – sold, purchased, moved, new job – empire kind of gone on hold.)

I know they say, moving house rate as the most stressful things one can experience or maybe it has just proved I am more of a control freak than I ever realised as through the process, you are at the whims of other people and unable to control a thing, other than saying yes -that is; Yes we will sell you our house, and Yes Please, we would like to buy this house.

Then it’s all down to other people and in their own time.

But we are in, and now that’s the main thing.

We have given up the high life of Surrey in London, for a lovely little town called Melksham in Wiltshire about 15 miles east of Bath.  I have taken on a new job, only 3 days a week.  Which truly consider me as part-time and the other 3 days I am to work my little socks off on empire for 6 months because if I cannot make a living out of it, it’s back to the day job full-time for me! That’s the deal anyway.

My workroom, kind of unpacked, but some bits still in boxes!

My workroom, kind of unpacked, but some bits still in boxes!

I have a great work space, my own room. Yeah!! This is better than the corner of the lounge room, which I previously had.  It’s still a bit of a tip, and not quite how I envisioned my lovely room, but Rome was not built-in a day. Wall paper, funky chest of drawers and proper work table will all come in time.

So this year, has not gone to plan.  I have not done my craft fair once a month, like planed, nor have I blogged every two weeks, or as yet reached my goal of 100 lines in my etsy shop. (or got back onto push bike and cycled 3 times a week to lose all the weight I have piled on or given up cake!)

However, I am getting back into it. Yesterday I spent the day, picture-taking of made up cushions that have been around for months and working on my etsy listing.  I have a massive design job to get done, 2 pairs of curtain, a roman blind and about 10 cushion covers to be made. Due in about 5 weeks, so that needs to be cracked on with. (That I would say, is an item a week, now!)

And with so much going on, when will I have the time to write my blog post? Oh that’s easy, on my very scenic view to Bath bus trip, 3 times a week to work which takes an hour.

Mr Fox, with a very unhappy Jam.

Mr Fox, with a very unhappy Jam.

So that’s my yet again catch up, with what has been going on. Hopefully next time, my post will be craftier than just what I have been up to.  As let’s face it, new house, new area, new craft fairs to explore and now living on the door step of  the beautiful city of bath; which I do just love,  there is bound to be lots to share!

Our lovely bay window is the prime watch spot of the house, for Miss Marmalade!

Our lovely bay window is the prime watch spot of the house, for Miss Marmalade!

Have a great day

Maree x

PS A couple of things I have mad for our new house, pre moving in was – was a roman blind  for my husband’s home office and a bed for his little mate and first item made in my work room was a  little table cloth and some cushion pads for our bay window breakfast table (that is now covered in muddy paw prints!) The rest of the room (& house) is still a work in progress!

Leave a Reply

A Stitching Odyssey

Fun Quirky Bespoke, Cushion covers to brighton up your life in an array of colour.

MoGirlDESIGN

Fun Quirky Bespoke, Cushion covers to brighton up your life in an array of colour.

Sewaholic

Fun Quirky Bespoke, Cushion covers to brighton up your life in an array of colour.

sewpro

Let's create well-made, beautiful garments

Make Bake & Sew

A continuing obsession with craft, baking & sewing

Handmade Jane

Fun Quirky Bespoke, Cushion covers to brighton up your life in an array of colour.

Gertie's New Blog for Better Sewing

Fun Quirky Bespoke, Cushion covers to brighton up your life in an array of colour.

By Hand London

Just another WordPress.com site

Boo Dogg and Me

Fun Quirky Bespoke, Cushion covers to brighton up your life in an array of colour.

